Real Editorial Illustration

This was my first project that I had in photoshop. I made this editorial illustration based off of an article. In order to complete my editorial illustration, I needed many layers in Photoshop to do so. I first started out with the background. I wanted to use a space theme to show the satellite is from space detecting what is going on. I grabbed this image from online. The next thing I did was added the planet. In order to select the planet from the full image, I used the quick selection tool and made a smart object after I rasterized it. Then I cut the object and placed it on the space background. Next, I added the satellite. On the satellite, I added a layer over it and placed an eyeball. In order to cut out the circle of the eyeball from its original background photo, I had to make it a smart object and use the quick selection tool again. Then, I adjusted the size of the eye to fit on top of the satellite and I changed the opacity on the satellite to emphasize the eye. Then I used the same technique of creating a smart object with the factories. I used these to demonstrate the methane pollution and added text to signify that it was methane that was coming out. I used red text to signify that the methane was causing heat. I changed the opacity of the Earth to place emphasis on the factories to show that that’s the main focus of what the eye is looking at. I wanted to make the Earth and the satellite roughly similar in size because they are both extremely important for the context of this photo so I played around with sizing as well.

Leave a comment